Home
Directions
General Info.
Search-By-Subject
Adult Programs

Teen Resources
Children's Room

RESERVE & RENEW ONLINE
DATABASES-4-STUDENTS

Enter your Hillside Library Barcode Number when prompted for a password.

LIBRARY DATABASES BY SUBJECT

What is a Database?

 

 

 

 

 

GENERAL


A to Z indexing Search by subject or title for online locations of particular journals.

ACCESS MY LIBRARY
Search multiple databases at once!  Gale & InfoTrac databases only.


ONLINE CATALOG FOR NASSAU COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARIES

RESERVE  & RENEW BOOKS ONLINE!

CREDO  Content from hundreds of reference books covering many subjects.

EBSCOhost Web 
Magazine & encyclopedia articles covering many subjects for all ages.

GALE VIRTUAL LIBRARY  Online Reference books for Art, Business, Health, History, Law, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Science & Social Science.

GALE/INFOTRAC DATABASES    Including Business & Company Resource Center, Discovering Collection, General Business File ASAP,  General Reference Center Gold, InfoTrac OneFile, Junior Edition K12, National Newspaper Index, Twayne Authors Series, Health & Wellness & Alternative Health Resource Center, Contemporary Authors & more.

GENERAL ONEFILE
One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

GENERAL REFERENCE CENTER GOLD
General interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

GREENFILE
Focuses on the relationship between human beings & the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources & beyond.

GROLIER ONLINE
Including Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, New Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, New Book of Popular Science, Lands and Peoples, America the Beautiful. *WITH TEACHER RESOURCES

NETLIBRARY   e-books!  Create your own free account to download online books.
TESTING & EDUCATION REFERENCE CENTER WITH CAREERS
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Search thousands of colleges & graduate schools, find scholarships, take on-line practice tests & use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
PLUS, search occupations, take career assessments & build a resume!

REFERENCE USA directory information on U.S. businesses, residents, & health care providers, plus Canadian businesses & households.


BACK TO TOP

 

ARTS & MUSIC
 
GALE VIRTUAL LIBRARY  Online Reference books for Art: International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers , 4th ed.,  4v,  2001


GROVE'S DICTIONARY OF ART
Biographies, articles & images on art & artists.


GROVE'S DICTIONARY OF MUSIC & MUSICIANS
Articles & biographies on music & musicians.

BACK TO TOP

 

 

 

BOOKS & LITERATURE
CONTEMPORARY AUTHORS
Complete biographical  information on  U.S. & international authors.

Contemporary Literary Criticism
Search by author name, title of work, nationality, subject, genre, ethnicity, or critic name.

CREDO
  Content from hundreds of reference books covering many subjects.

GALE VIRTUAL LIBRARY  Online Reference books for Literature:  Contemporary Novelists , 7th ed.,  2001 & Contemporary Poets , 7th ed.,  2001

Literature Resource Center Find up-to-date biographical information, full-text literary criticism & reviews from all time periods around the world.

LITERARY INDEX  Authors & titles by name, birth date, death date, or nationality.
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, full-text literary criticism & reviews from all time periods around the world.

LITFINDER

Poems, poem citations & excerpts, short stories, essays, speeches, & plays.

NETLIBRARY
   e-books!  Create your own free account to download online books.

NOVELIST ADULT FICTION SEARCH 

Fiction titles, reviews, annotations, Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, & Feature Articles.

NOVELIST K-8 
Title information & reviews for Kindergarten through 8th grade fiction.  WITH TEACHER RESOURCES.

TUMBLEBOOKS! Happy Tumbling from the TumbleBook Family!
Online e-books for kids!
User: hillside pass: libra

TWAYNE'S AUTHOR SERIES
   
Includes World, US, & English Authors.

BACK TO TOP

 

 

 

BUSINESS & FINANCE
Business & Company ASAP
Information on companies, markets & industries.  Includes market trends, mergers & acquisitions plus current management theory & company overviews.

Business & Company Resource Center with Newsletters
  Search company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, periodicals & newsletters.

EBSCOhost Web  MasterFile Select incl. Consumer Reports, The Economist, Kiplinger's Personal Finance,CFO, Money, Economic Indicators, & more.

GALE VIRTUAL LIBRARY
  Online Reference books for Business include Business Plans Handbook , Vol. 1,  1993 through Vol. 10,  2004 , Encyclopedia of Small Business , 2nd ed.,  2v,  2002 & Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce , 2v,  2002

General Business File ASAP

Company performance & activity, industry events & trends as well as the latest in management, economics & politics. 

Investext Plus
   Financial research.  Find investment, company & industry reports from over 500 brokers all over the world.

PROMT
(Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology)  Research companies, products & technologies, & competitive markets.

REFERENCE USA Directory information on U.S. businesses, residents, & health care providers, plus Canadian businesses & households.


BACK TO TOP

 

 

 

 

 

 

CAREER HELP
REFERENCE USA EmployerUSA has U.S. employers, large or small. Use it to find the company you want to work for based on location, type of business and educational background.

TESTING & EDUCATION REFERENCE CENTER
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Search thousands of colleges & graduate schools, find scholarships, take on-line practice tests & use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

 

BACK TO TOP

COMMUNITY
Community Resource Database of Long Island
Find Health, Human Service and Educational resources agencies & programs that can help you!

REFERENCE USA Directory information on U.S. businesses, residents, & health care providers.

 

 

HEALTH & MEDICAL

A to Z indexing Search by subject or title for online locations of particular journals.

EBSCOhost Web  MasterFile Select incl. Harvard Women's Health Watch, Consumer Reports on Health, Total Health, Journal of Environmental Health, Men's Health, Tufts University Health & Nutrition Newsletter, & more.

FULL-TEXT SOURCES ONLINE Directory of publications that are accessible online in full text. It lists periodicals, newspapers, newsletters, newswires, and TV or radio transcripts. It covers topics in science, technology, medicine, law, finance, business, industry, the popular press and more. FSO also lists the URLs of publications with Internet archives, noting whether access to them is free or not.

GALE VIRTUAL LIBRARY  Online Reference books for Health & Medicine include: Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine  2005; Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer , 2006;  Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders ,  2006; Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine , 2006; Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health , 2007

HEALTH CENTER ACADEMIC

Nursing & allied health journals, plus personal health information sources. 

Health Management from Proquest Scholarly publications covering health administration, public health & safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations & law.

Health & Wellness Center & Alternative Health
Health & medical journals, pamphlets & articles. 

Nursing and Allied Health Collection MAY, 2008
All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

REFERENCE USA Directory information on U.S. dental & health care providers.

BACK TO TOP

 

 

 

 

 

HISTORY

GALE VIRTUAL LIBRARY  Online Reference books for History include:

Historical Newspapers
Search the NY Times from Sept 1851 thru Dec 2004.

BACK TO TOP

 

 

JOURNALS, MAGAZINES, NEWSPAPERS
CUSTOM NEWSPAPERS (not incl. Newsday)  
Search a collection of over 650 national & international newspapers.

FULL-TEXT SOURCES ONLINE Directory of publications that are accessible online in full text. It lists periodicals, newspapers, newsletters, newswires, and TV or radio transcripts. It covers topics in science, technology, medicine, law, finance, business, industry, the popular press and more. FSO also lists the URLs of publications with Internet archives, noting whether access to them is free or not.

GENERAL ONEFILE
One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

GENERAL REFERENCE CENTER GOLD
General interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Historical Newspapers
Search the NY Times from Sept 1851 thru Dec 2004.

MASTERFILE SELECT

*Click on EBSCOHost Web.
Journal & magazine articles covering most subject areas of general interest. Incl. Consumer Reports

NATIONAL NEWSPAPER INDEX  
Indexing of America's top 5 newspapers:  NY Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times & The Washington Post.

NEW YORK STATE NEWSPAPERS
Search 28 newspapers published in New York, including the NY Times & the NY Post.  Not incl. Newsday.

POINTS OF VIEW

Online guide for debates, developing arguments, writing position papers, & developing critical thinking skills.

ProQuest Newspapers *Including Newsday (1985-current)  Articles from newspapers & magazines.

BACK TO TOP

 

 

SPANISH
EBSCO ESPANOL 
Artículos de revistas y de información sobre muchos temas para todas las edades en español.

INFORME!    Artículos de revistas en español que abarca los negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y más.

La Nueva enciclopedia  Cumbre en linea 
For Beginning & Intermediate students of Spanish.

Salud para todos 
Salud y la información médica en español.
Health & medical information in Spanish.

BACK TO TOP

 

 


TEST PREP & HOMEWORK HELP
Amazing Animals of the World
Colorful pictures & information.  Useful for elementary & middle school students.

AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL
U.S. states & territories for upper elementary & middle school students. *WITH TEACHER RESOURCES.

CREDO  Content from hundreds of reference books covering many subjects.

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ANIMALS
Nature & habitat of animals.

EBSCOhost Web  Magazine & encyclopedia articles covering many subjects for all ages.

ENCYCLOPEDIA AMERICANA
Appropriate for students of all grades to search for current events, biographies, & assorted topics.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia 

GALE VIRTUAL LIBRARY  Online Reference books for Art, Business, Health, History, Law, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Science & Social Science.

General Science Collection  Text with graphics.  Recommended for middle & high school students.

GREENFILE Focuses on the relationship between human beings & the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources & beyond.

GROLIER MULTIMEDIA ENCYCLOPEDIA
Reduce search time across a wide variety of media.

GROLIER ONLINE  From Scholastic Inc. Teachers. Many TEACHER RESOURCES. 

Historical Newspapers
Search the NY Times from Sept 1851 thru Dec 2004.

Junior Edition K12  For Middle school students.  Articles from newspapers, magazines & books.

KIDS SEARCH  Topics include Animals, Arts & Music, Geography, Health, In the News, Language Arts, Math, Science & more. Colorful & fun.

LANDS AND PEOPLE  
Provides accessible, easy-to-understand articles on countries, cultures, & current events.

LITERARY INDEX  Authors & titles by name, birth date, death date, or nationality.
Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, full-text literary criticism & reviews from all time periods around the world.

LITFINDER
Poems, poem citations & excerpts, short stories, essays, speeches, & plays.

MASTERFILE SELECT

Journal & magazine articles covering most subject areas of general interest. Incl. Consumer Reports

NEW BOOK OF POPULAR SCIENCE
  
Search SciClopedia, NewsBytes, Career articles, Biographies, & Science Fair Projects.

NOVELIST ADULT FICTION SEARCH 
Fiction titles, reviews, annotations, Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, & Feature Articles.

NOVELIST K-8 
Title information & reviews for Kindergarten through 8th grade fiction.  WITH TEACHER RESOURCES.

POINTS OF VIEW

Online guide for debates, developing arguments, writing position papers, & developing critical thinking skills.

ProQuest Newspapers
Including Newsday (1985-current). 
Coverage of major U.S. & international newspapers such as The New York Times & the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources & news wires.

SEARCHASAURUS
Articles & images for elementary school students. 

Science Reference Center
Recommended for Middle & High school students.

TESTING & EDUCATION REFERENCE CENTER
Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Search thousands of colleges & graduate schools, find scholarships, take on-line practice tests & use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

TOPICsearch 
Recommended for Middle & High school students. 
Current events:  Articles from newspapers & magazines.

TUMBLEBOOKS! Happy Tumbling from the TumbleBook Family! Online e-books for kids! User: hillside pass: libra

TWAYNE'S AUTHOR SERIES   
Includes World, US, & English Authors.

BACK TO TOP

  © 2008 HPL