A TO Z INDEXING FIND ONLINE SOURCES WHERE JOURNALS & MAGAZINES ARE!
ACCESS MY LIBRARY Brought to you by Thomson Gale to make sure that many of the Library's premium resources are 'findable' when you use this search engine. Galenet & InfoTrac products only.
AMERICA
THE BEAUTIFUL A comprehensive program
about the states and territories of the United
States. The program is designed especially for fourth-, fifth- and
sixth-grade students although the content will be useful for
junior-high students as well. America the Beautiful Online is
composed of highly visual, fact-filled, interest-driven material,
presented in a user-friendly manner. *WITH
TEACHER RESOURCES
BUSINESS & COMPANY RESOURCE
CENTER A fully
integrated resource bringing together
company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports,
company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database
to find detailed company and industry news and information.
CONTEMPORARY
AUTHORS Provides complete biographical and
bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S.
and international authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works & sources for further study
CREDO Content from hundreds of reference books covering many subjects.
EBSCO
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF ANIMALS *Click on EBSCOHost Web, Provides in-depth information
on a variety of topics relating to
animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text
records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
EBSCO
ESPANOL Including Salud
para todos, MasterFile Select, Topic Search, Primary
Search, Genral Science Collection, EBSCO Animals, & Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
ENCYCLOPEDIA AMERICANA This database is easy to search
online & helps middle- to upper-grade
students find a wealth of information to assist with homework and
research projects.
GALE'S LITERARY INDEX Look for authors & titles in the
Index by name, birth date, death date, or nationality.
GALENET DATABASES
Including Business & Company Resource Center, Discovering
Collection, General Business File ASAP, General Reference Center
Gold, InfoTrac OneFile, Junior Edition K12, National Newspaper Index, Twayne Authors Series, Health
& Wellness & Alternative Health Resource Center, Contemporary
Authors & more.
GALENET VIRTUAL LIBRARY Including American Civil War Reference Library, American Revolution Reference Library , Business Plans Handbook , Encyclopedia of Small Business , Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine , Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce, Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders , Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health, History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide, Major Acts of Congress .
GENERAL BUSINESS
FILE ASAP Analyze company performance and
activity,
industry events and trends as well as the latest in management,
economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research
reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory
listings with full text and images available.
GENERAL ONFILE
One-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
GENERAL REFERENCE CENTER GOLD
General interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
GENERAL SCIENCE COLLECTION
*Click on EBSCOHost Web. Offers
full text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science
publications. Provides information on all aspects of the scientific
world & offers full text
information dating back as far as 1992.
GREENFILE
Focuses on the relationship between human beings & the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources & beyond.
GROLIER MULTIMEDIA ENCYCLOPEDIA Reduce search time across a
wide variety of media with the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia—the
powerful database that
contains both
resources for students and activities for teachers and librarians to
use with their students.
GROLIER
ONLINE
Including Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, New
Book of Knowledge, La Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre, New Book of Popular
Science, Lands and Peoples, America the Beautiful. *WITH
TEACHER RESOURCES
GROVE'S DICTIONARY OF ART
Provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996,
34 vols.) with ongoing additions of new material and updates to the
text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search
advantages possible with an online reference resource.
GROVE'S DICTIONARY OF
MUSIC & MUSICIANS(incl. Grove's
Dictionary of Opera) An integrated music resource on the web,
including the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and
Musicians (second edition; 29 volumes), The New Grove
Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes) and The New Grove Dictionary of
Jazz
(second edition; 3 volumes). Updated
annually to ensure it remains the most up to date music reference work
on the Internet.
Health & Wellness Center Including the respected Gale
Encyclopedia of Medicine. Delivers
up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals,
and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources. Find magazines, journals, newspapers,
definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy,
Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and
Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies,
and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to
diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government
databases.
INFORME!Una coleccion de
revistas hispanicas con textos
completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnologia, cultura, temas de
actualidad y otras materias.
INFOTRAC
DATABASES Including Business & Company Resource Center, Discovering
Collection, General Business File ASAP, General Reference Center
Gold, InfoTrac OneFile, Junior Edition K12, National Newspaper Index,
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, Twayne Authors Series, Health
& Wellness & Alternative Health Resource Center, Contemporary
Authors, & Kids InfoBits.
INFOTRAC
ONEFILE (incl. Consumer Reports)A
one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of
topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education,
environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature
and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and
many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with
images. Updated daily.
Investext Plus Premier financial research database available today. Search this database to find investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. All company and industry reports are provided in full page PDF image.
Junior
Edition K12 Formerly
SuperTOM Junior, this periodical database is designed for students in
junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference
books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts,
science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports
and more.
K
KIDS SEARCH Designed especially for youth in grades K-8
LANDS AND PEOPLEProvides
accessible, easy-to-understand articles on countries,
cultures, and current events.
LITFINDER (short
stories, poems,
essays) International in scope, covers all
time periods, & contains a wealth
of primary literature content, including more than 126,500 full-text
poems, 850,000 poem citations and excerpts, 5,000 full-text short
stories, 2,800 full-text essays, 1,800 full-text speeches, and 1,000
full-text plays. Also includes biographies, work summaries,
photographs, and a glossary.
Literature Resource Center Find up-to-date biographical information, full-text literary criticism& reviews from all time periods around the world.
MASTERFILE SELECT (incl. Consumer Reports)
*Click on
EBSCOHost Web, then click on the first selection of the menu. This
multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 800
general reference publications with coverage dating as far back as
1984. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE
Select
also includes 20 full text reference books and an Image Collection of
107,135 photos, maps and flags. Updated daily.
NATIONAL NEWSPAPER INDEX Provides quick access
to the indexing of America's top
five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall
Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and
The Washington Post.
NEW
BOOK OF POPULAR SCIENCE
Search the full text of the SciClopedia,
the NewsBytes,
the Careers articles, the Closer Look sidebars, Biographies, Projects,
and the archived NewsBytes.
NEW
YORK STATE NEWSPAPERS
(not
incl. Newsday) Search the Buffalo News (Buffalo, NY),
Herald American (Syracuse, NY), Herald-Journal (Syracuse, NY), New York
Observer (NY, NY), New York Post (NY, NY), New York Times,
Post-Standard (Syracuse, NY).
NOVEL DATABASES from the New York State Library's Online Virtual Electronic Library (NOVEL). Offers New York State residents online access to the full text of hundreds of journals, newspapers and other references
NOVELIST
ADULT FICTION SEARCH A fiction
database that provides subject heading access, reviews,
annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. It also
includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author
Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles.
PETERSON'S TESTING & EDUCATION REFERENCE CENTER
Scroll to bottom of database list. Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.
POINTS OF VIEW Online guide for debates, developing arguments, writing position papers, & for developing critical thinking skills. Essay includes questions & additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political & societal publications.
PRIMARY
SEARCH *Click on
SEARCHASAURUS. Articles & citations for elementary school students.
PROMT Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports.
PROQUEST
HISTORICAL
NEWSPAPERS Be sure to select the ProQuest
Historical Newspapers The New York Times in the Database
list. Search the Historical New
York Times (1851-2001), which offers full page and article
images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The
collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every
page from every available issue.
ProQuest
Newspapers, Including Newsday (1985-current)Coverage of 150+ major U.S. &
international newspapers such as The New York Times& the Times of
London, plus hundreds of other news sources & news wires.
TESTING & EDUCATION REFERENCE CENTER WITH CAREERS! Search colleges & graduate schools, take SATs & other high school & college & graduate entrance exams.Also, find out about hundreds of occupations, take a career assessment & build a stellar resume.
TOPICsearch Middle & high school
students: This current events database allows
researchers to explore social,
political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other
popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch
contains full text for over 78,000 articles from more than 3,000
diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.