![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
The
Long Beach Public Library subscribes to more than 60 databases
to give you
easy online access to reliable, authoritative information.
For home
access, you will need your library card (barcode) number.
To
see these sources in alphabetical order, click here.
The
Grove Dictionary of Art A
comprehensive source for all aspects of the visual arts including art reproductions,
artist biographies, museum websites, and artists' home pages. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
| Community Resource Database Lists 8,500 private non-profit or government sponsored agencies and programs that provide services to Long Island residents. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
All
Data Includes
automobile diagnostics, repair procedures, electrical diagrams, technical bulletins
and recalls which may be printed out. | |
| Selected links on this topic | |
|
Business
and Company ASAP Covers
1980 to current month. Includes information on companies, markets, industries,
mergers, and management theory from business and trade journals with full-text
and images.
|
||
| Business and Company Resource Center Includes company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories & news. | ||
| Business Source Premier The world's largest business database with full-text of 8,350 scholarly business journals, newspapers and newswires. | ||
| General Business File ASAP 1980 to present month. Includes broker research reports, trade publications, company directories, industry trends. | ||
| InvestTextPlus Gives you full access to full-text investment research reports written by 700 investment banks, brokerage firms and investment advisory companies. Material is organized into company reports, industry reports and geographical and topical reports. | ||
| Newsletters ASAP 2000 to the present month. Provides access to information about specialized business and industry trends & topics. | ||
| PROMT (Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology) Research companies, products and technologies via summaries and full-text from 1000 business journals, newspapers, market research studies and reports. | ||
| Regional Business News Full-text coverage of regional business publications from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
| Career Cruising Explore a future career path or conduct research before you change careers by using Career Matchmaker and/or view multimedia interviews with people working in hundreds of careers. Career Cruising also includes detailed information about colleges and univerisities across the U.S. with links to financial aid resources. | ||
ERIC
The
Educational Resource Information Center includes references, citations and abstracts
from 2,200 digests and 980 eduction-related journals.
| ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
| Career Cruising Explore a future career path or conduct research before you change careers by using Career Matchmaker and/or view multimedia interviews with people working in hundreds of careers. Career Cruising also includes detailed information about colleges and universities across the U.S. with links to financial aid resources. | ||
| Learning Express Library A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial courses. Study and practice for academic, civil service, and licensing tests, including basic skills, college entrance, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Law Enforcement, TOEFL, U.S. Citizenship and more. Immediate scoring, complete answer explanations and individualized analysis of results. Computer Module includes instruction for Access, Excel, PowerPoint, MS Office and Word. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
|
Ebscohost
Español El
Anfitrión De Ebsco En Español- Incluye MasterFILE Escoge,
Se Acobarda & La Enciclopedia De Wagnalls, Animales De Ebsco, La Búsqueda
Del Tema, Primer Ministro De Fuente De Negocio, La Colección General
De La Ciencia, Las Noticias Regionales Del Negocio, La Búsqueda
Mediana, Fuente de Salud, Masterfile La Búsqueda Primaria, El Reloj
De La Salud De Alt.
|
||
| ¡Informe! Es La Telaraña de InfoTrac proporciona artículos en español para satisfacer las necesidades de la comunidad hispana. | ||
| La
Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre Es
para empezar estudiantes y intermedios. Incluye Países, Ciudades, Lugares de interés, Biografías, Historia, Tradiciones y Artes. |
||
| Salud Para Todos Una base de datos de Ebsco que es un texto repleto el recurso de consumo de la salud. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
| Ancestry.com Contains 5 billion genealogy records with new records added daily. Records include the entire United States Federal Census from 1790 - 1930. In Library access only. | |
| Selected links on this topic | |
| LexisNexis New York and other state statutes plus some U. S. laws and regulations. | |
| Selected links on this topic | |
| Alt Health Watch An alternative health databse providing the full-text of 140 publications back to 1990. | ||
Harrison's
Online Complete
text and illustrations from Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Current
Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, and others. | ||
Health
and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module 1980
to present month. Includes government databases, magazines, journals, newspapers
and directories regarding all health topics. | ||
Health
Reference Center Academic Covers
fitness, pregnancy, medicinal nutrition, public and occuptional health. | ||
Health
Source--Consumer Edition Consumer
health information on the medical sciences, food sciences, nutrition, child care,
sports medicine. | ||
MEDLINE
Authoratative
medical information including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health
care from the National Library of Medicine. | ||
| Salud Para Todos Una base de datos de Ebsco que es un texto repleto el recurso de consumo de la salud. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
| The Library hopes to offer other language learning modules in the future. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
Discovering
Collection Includes
in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history,
biography, science and social studies. | ||
Literature
Resource Center
Provides biographies, bibliographies, critical analysis of novelists, poets, essayists
and journalists from every age and literary discipline. | ||
Litfinder
Includes
author profiles, citations, explanations, analysis of 85,000 full-text poems,
plays, speeches, essays, and short stories.
| ||
| Live Homework Help Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses. Available every day between the hours of 3:00 - 9:00 p. m. in the Library or from home (students must complete a one-time download to their home computer). Students may ask questions about math, science, social studies, and english including essay writing and general composition in 20 minute sessions. | ||
NetLibrary
(create account in library to use from home) Net
Library includes 4000 free e-books including nonfiction and classics searchable
by subject. You must create an account in the Library. Then you may access
Net Library from home or in the Library. | ||
NoveList
A
readers' advisory tool that assists readers in finding new authors and titles
based on past reading preferences. NoveList is linked to the Library's catalog
displaying the Library's holdings.
| ||
Twayne
Authors Series Contains
the full-text of 200 Twayne Literary Masters books on world, U. S. and English
authors. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
| Community Resource Database Lists 8,500 private non-profit or government sponsored agencies and programs that provide services to Long Island residents. | |
| Selected links on this topic | |
|
Custom
Newspapers 150
national and international newspapers.
|
||
| Master File Premier Includes the full-text of 2,100 general reference publications dating back to 1975, 650 full-text books, biographies, primary source documents, and image collections of photos, maps and flags. | ||
| Master File Select Includes the full-text of nearly 800 general reference publications dating back to 1975, 20 full-text reference books, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. | ||
| National Newspaper Index 1997 to present month. Indexes America's top 5 newspapers: NY Times, Wall Street Journal, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post. Not full-text. | ||
| New York State Newspapers A database of 10 major newspapers published in the State of New York including the NY Times & NY Post. | ||
| Newspaper Source Selected full-text for nearly 30 U.S. national and international newspapers. Full-text television and radio news transcripts. Selected full-text for 200 U.S. regional newspapers. | ||
| EBSCO Points of View A variety of points of view on a broad spectrum of controversial subjects. | ||
| Topic Search A current events database of social, political, economic and scientific issues discussed in classrooms. | ||
| UMI Proquest Direct From 1986 to current day. Provides access to thousands of current periodicals and newspapers with full-text. Includes Newsday and NY Times. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
GroveMusic
A
comprehensive resource for all aspects of the musical arts including opera, jazz,
popular and 20th Century music.
| ||
| Discovering Collection Includes in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history, biography, science and social studies. | ||
| EBSCO Animals Provides in-depth information on topics relating to animals and their habitats. | ||
| General Science Collection Full-text coverage from more than 60 of the most popular science publications dating back to 1992. | ||
| Live Homework Help Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses. Available every day between the hours of 3:00 - 9:00 p. m. in the Library or from home (students must complete a one-time download to their home computer). Students may ask questions about math, science, social studies, and english including essay writing and general composition in 20 minute sessions. | ||
| The New Book of Popular Science Based upon the popular students' print edition. Includes the sciclopedia, news, projects, biographies, and skywatch. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
| America the Beautiful Includes digital photographs, current events, interactive maps, almanacs, timelines and a dictionary of the 50 states, Puerto Rico and U. S. Territories. | ||
| CountryWatch Two databases, Countrywire and Country Reviews, provide economic and political surveys of over 192 countries. | ||
| Discovering Collection Includes in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of literature, history, biography, science and social studies. | ||
| Lands and Peoples An interactive version of the Scholastic reference book including the entire encyclopedia, a news desk and an atlas. | ||
| Live Homework Help Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses. Available every day between the hours of 3:00 - 9:00 p. m. in the Library or from home (students must complete a one-time download to their home computer). Students may ask questions about math, science, social studies, and english including essay writing and general composition in 20 minute sessions. | ||
| Selected links on this topic | ||
Home
| General Information | Catalog
& Databases | Links | Library
Calendar | Long Beach Links
Youth
Services | Book Group | Links
en Español | Bibliographies | Allard
K. Lowenstein | Email Us
created and maintained by M. A. Buss