Return to Massapequa
Library home page

 

General Reference
Animals
Art
Auto Repair
Biography/Genealogy
Business/Financial
Career Guidance
Community
Current Events/
   Social Issues
Directories
Education
Encyclopedias
Geography/
   World Events
Health
History
Images/Graphics
Kids/Teens
Language Learning
Literature/Books
Music
Newspapers
Science/Technology
Spanish Language

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Online Databases


We provide access to a wide variety of databases that offer magazine, journal, and newspaper articles; research databases on specific subjects such as literature, music, art, science, business or health, and reader's advisory.

To access these databases, you will need your Massapequa library card barcode.


General Reference

(EBSCOhost) - The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Credo Reference - The world's largest online reference service. It features full-text content along with images, maps & audio files from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. Credo Reference offers unique, cross-referencing technology, enabling users to find authoritative answers fast.

EBSCOhost - Search EBSCOhost for information on business, health, current events, arts, science and entertainment from magazines and newspapers.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library -
* Password is your library card barcode * A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. The reference materials contained in this collection include a variety of health and history resources. Click on the Tiltle List icon to view available publications. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

MasterFile Premier (EBSCOhost) - This database provides full-text for nearly 2,000 general reference publications dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes 315 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.

World Book Online - Welcome to the World Book Online Reference Center, the premier online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. With state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor- reviewed Web sites, and more - we are convinced that you will find the World Book Online Reference Center to be a valuable resource!

Animals

EBSCO Animals - Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Art

Oxford Art Online - The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day.

Auto Repair

Auto Repair Reference Center - Contains information by the publisher of Chilton's on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. Database content includes approximately 23,000 vehicles covered from 1954 to present; over 100,000 factory drawings and step-by-step photographs; over 60,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer; wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules; Labor Time Guide & Estimator; Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance.

Biography/Genealogy

Biography Resource Center - This database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.

HeritageQuest Online - HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.

Business/Financial

Business and Company Resource Center (InfoTrac) - * Password is your library card barcode *
A fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) - The world’s largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 300 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.

General Business File ASAP (InfoTrac) - Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

Investext Plus -The premier financial research database available today. Search this database to find investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. All company and industry reports are provided in full page PDF image.


PROMT - Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports.

Reference USA - Reference USA is a detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses with the ability to search by company name, ticker symbol, type of business, geography, business size, and more.

Regional Business News (EBSCOhost) - This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional businesspublications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Career Guidance

Career Cruising - Career Cruising is a comprehensive and interactive career guidance resource that provides the information you need to make the right career choice. It includes in-depth profiles of hundreds of different careers, detailed information on colleges and universities, and something no other resource has: multimedia interviews with real people in every career.

Community

Community Resource Database of Long Island - This computerized directory profiles more than 6,000 community services and resources available in the Long Island area. These are mostly private non-profit or government sponsored public agencies and programs serving infants, children, teens, adults, and senior citizens.

Current Events/Social Issues

CQ Researcher - Username = massapequa
Password = first 5 digits of your library card barcode
The source for in-depth analysis of contemporary issues. The award-winning The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Reports date back to 1991.

Points of View Reference Center - Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.

TOPICsearch (EBSCOhost) - This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues,scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 64,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including more than 1,500 full text periodicals.

Directories

Reference USA - The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. residents. The Business Database is a detailed listing of over 12 million businesses with the ability to search by company name, ticker symbol, type of business, geography, business size, and more. The Residential Database contains listings of over 120 million U.S. households.

Education

(EBSCOhost) - The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

ERIC - ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.

(EBSCOhost) - Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Encyclopedias

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

World Book Online - Welcome to the World Book Online Reference Center, the premier online reference source-containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. With state-of-the-art multimedia, maps, editor- reviewed Web sites, and more - we are convinced that you will find the World Book Online Reference Center to be a valuable resource!

Geography/World Events

AP Images - With millions of images dating back more than 100 years, AP Images is one of the world’s largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. The AP Images collection is updated every minute of the day and includes entertainment, fashion, news and sports coverage from The Associated Press and other content partners. AP Images also offers thousands of graphics including diagrams, maps, charts, logos and more.

CountryWatch - CountryWatch provides up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world. CountryWatch is a world leader in providing country specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 192 countries of the world.

Health

Consumer Health Complete - is designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. Consumer Health Complete provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles

Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health - * Password is your library card barcode * Written for students and professionals in the field. Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Also discusses the roles of all major health professionals. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

Health and Wellness Resource Center - * Password is your library card barcode * Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

Health Reference Center (InfoTrac) - * Password is your library card barcode * Use this database to find articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost) - You can search for information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source -Consumer Edition features searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications.

(EBSCOhost) - This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

MEDLINE - Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.

MedlinePlus - MedlinePlus will direct you to information to help answer health questions. MedlinePlus brings together, by health topic, authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), other government, non-profit and other health-related organizations. Preformulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to the medical research literature. It also provides you with a database of full-text drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.

 

History

History Reference Center - the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database also includes full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Images/Graphics

AP Images - * Username & Password are the first 5 digits of your barcode * With millions of images dating back more than 100 years, AP Images is one of the world’s largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. The AP Images collection is updated every minute of the day and includes entertainment, fashion, news and sports coverage from The Associated Press and other content partners. AP Images also offers thousands of graphics including diagrams, maps, charts, logos and more.

Kids/Teens

InfoTrac Junior - * Password is your library card barcode * This periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

Kids InfoBits - This periodical database is designed for students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It provides easy access to full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Kids Search (EBSCOhost) - Designed for students in grades K through 5. Kids Search provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use, graphically-appealing interface they can use to search their EBSCO databases.

Middle Search Plus (EBSCOhost) - Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 150 popular, magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Novelist K-8 - This easy-to-use readers' advisory service allows you to discover popular fiction titles for young readers. NoveList K-8 contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. Updated monthly, NoveList K-8 is your starting place for learning about the books that you will want to read!

Primary Search (EBSCOhost) - Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Searchasaurus - Searchasaurus is a colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students, it provides an easy way for young researchers to experience online searching. Searchasaurus includes magazines, encyclopedias, pictures, and a dictionary.

Student Research Center (EBSCOhost) - Provides students in secondary (Grades 6-12) schools with the most appropriate research tools for easily obtaining the information that they need.Through the Student Research Center, users can easily pre-determine which content sources (e.g., Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video) will be included with their search. They can also search their databases by topic heading & make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia.

TumbleBook Library - The TumbleBook Library is a collection of TumbleBooks - animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books; adding animation, sound, music, and narration to produce an electronic picture book. The TumbleBook Library also includes TumblePuzzles, and TumbleQuizzes, as well as TumbleResources for teachers. 

Language Learning

Auralog TELL ME MORE - Learn a language with TELL ME MORE a comprehensive language program that addresses the four major components required to learn and master a language. Those four components are Reading, Writing, Listening, and Speaking. Unlike other language learning mediums such as books, tapes, CDs, and such, TELL ME MORE does not sacrifice one particular language skill in lieu of another. TELL ME MORE and its cultural component makes language learning relevant by exposing learners to relevant history and culture of the nations in which the target language is spoken.

Literature/Books

Book Collection: Nonfiction - provides content representing a wide spectrum of works. It contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 3,500 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.

Books In Print - Booksinprint.com provides users with access to: The complete Books in Print database of US titles, Books Out-of-Print, Children's Books in Print, Forthcoming Books, Bowker's Publisher Authority Database, Bowker's Complete Video Directory, and Words on Cassette

Literary Reference Center (LRC) (EBSCO) - a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. LRC contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works and is an essential resource for public, academic and high school libraries.

Literature Resource Center - Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series includes signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series. Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text titles.

LitFinder - Includes Essay Finder, a unique database of full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the 20th century which have been analyzed in standard library indexes. PoemFinder, the largest, most comprehensive poetry database available. It is international in scope, and covers poetry from antiquity to the present. Story Finder, provides thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more.

MagillOnLiterature Plus - Produced by Salem Press, the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors. MagillOnLiterature contains all of Masterplots and Masterplots II, Cyclopedia of World Authors, Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, Magill's Literary Annual, Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy as well as World Philosophers and Their Works.

netLibrary - A comprehensive collection of online books (eBooks) and resource materials. Users have access to a wide range of scholarly and reference materials 24 hours a day, 7 days a week! You must register for this service. Ask at the reference desk for more information.

Novelist - This "readers' advisor" database has something for everyone. Adults, teens and children will be able to identify other books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. Besides locating books to read, users can learn more about books and authors through Author Read-alikes, Feature Articles, Book Discussion Guides, and BookTalks. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations for over 20,000 titles.

Twayne's Author Series - * Password is your library card barcode * Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

Music

Oxford Music Online - Universally acknowledged as the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music. This great work is widely used throughout the academic and professional community, and revered by music lovers worldwide.

Newspapers

Custom Newspapers - * Password is your library card barcode * Search a collection of 150 newspapers, both national and international. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

National Newspaper Index - * Password is your library card barcode * National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

Newsday - Provides access to articles published in Newsday since 1985 as well as current editions and is updated daily.

Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost) - Newspaper Source provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers.

New York State Newspapers - * Password is your library card barcode * Search this database of ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post. Available via NOVEL, a project of the New York State Library federally funded by LSTA grants.

Science/Technology

AccessScience - The online Encyclopedia of Science & Technology is the first place to go on the Internet to start your research into science & technology subjects. AccessScience provides you with the up-to-date information you need - quickly and reliably.

Computer Source (EBSCOhost) - Computer Source provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for more than 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for over 400 publications.

General Science Collection - EBSCO's General Science Collection provides information on all aspects of the scientific world and offers full-text coverage for more than 60 of the most popular science publications. Subject areas covered include the observation, description, identification, and experimental investigation of phenomena and the application of science to industrial or commercial objectives.

Science Reference Center - a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-specific content.  Designed to support middle and high school curriculum, Science Reference Center encompasses all disciplines of science.  Biology, chemistry, earth, space, life, physical, and environmental sciences are covered as well as health and medicine, science in society, science as inquiry, history of science, technology, scientists, and wildlife.

Spanish Language

EBSCOhost Espanol - Busque EBSCOhost para la información sobre negocio, salud, sucesos actuales, artes, ciencia y la hospitalidad de los compartimientos y de los periódicos.

Informe - Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Salud para todos - Esta base de datos es un recurso completo de la salud del consumidor del texto escrito enteramente en español y diseñado específicamente para ésos la información el buscar sobre salud y medicina. Los artículos contenidos dentro de Salud párrafo Todos fueron seleccionados sobre de 300 publicaciones y fuentes creadas cerca sobre 50 asociaciones de investigación e institutos nacionales.