NORTH MERRICK |
![]() |
Home | About Us | Library Catalog | Online Databases | Newsletter
Internet Links | Young Adult | Children's Room | Friends | Community Directory
North Merrick Library cardholders can search many on-line databases from home or in the Library.
Those not able to be used at home are marked as such and are only available in the library.
Have your library card available. You must enter your library card number to
access these databases from home.
To see a list of databases organized by topic click here.
Databases A to Z
| Associations Unlimited Dec 2007 The premier source for associations - use this database to locate approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. The database is also used to monitor association trends; identify related associations; networking and making professional contacts; marketing to associations, their members and markets. |
|
Biography Resource Center + Marquis Who's Who® DECEMBER, 2007 |
|
Business and Company Resource Center |
|
| Career Cruising Find the career information you're looking for and see multimedia interviews with real people in every career. |
|
| COLLEGE SOURCE ONLINE Features over 30,000 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page format including: 2-year, 4-year, graduate, and professional schools. For HOME USE the Username is NMerrick and the Password is the first five digits of your North Merrick Library Card number. |
|
| Community Resource Database of Long Island This unique and comprehensive online directory of local health and human services includes detailed information on more than 6000 agencies and programs in both Nassau and Suffolk counties. No Password needed for home use. |
|
| Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select is an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC--Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study |
|
| CredoReference Credo Reference gives you a complete reference collection from over 50 publishers, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers - and new connections - in context. |
|
| Discovering Collection Discovering Collection offers easy access to award-winning content based on national curriculum standards. Covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, DC provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New to the database are popular topic picklists and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards. |
|
| EBSCO offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases. Includes: EBSCOhost Web, which offers MasterFile Select, Primary Search, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, EBSCO Animals, Salud para todo. Ebsco also has Topic Search, Ebsco en Espanol, Novelist and SEARCHASAURUS, a junior database. Home Use |
|
| GaleGroup Use this database to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on business, health, industry, current events, the arts, science, entertainment, etc. |
|
| Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). |
|
| General Business File ASAP 1980 - Dec 2007 Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available. |
|
| General Reference Center Gold 1980 - DEC, 2007 A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. |
|
| General OneFile 1980 - DEC, 2007 A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. |
|
| Grolier Online Provides access to Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier MultimediaEncyclopedia and The New Book of Knowledge; these resources offer quick access to factual information as well as broad overviews of general subjects. HOME USE |
|
| Grove Art Online The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s. |
|
| Grove Music Online Comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen. |
|
| Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module 1980 - Dec 2007 Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only. |
|
| Health Reference Center Academic 1980 - Dec 2007 Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. |
|
| History Resource Center: US History Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000 historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series. |
|
| Informe 1994 - Dic. 2007 Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias |
|
| Investext Plus 1982 - Present Investext Plus is the premier financial research database available today. With a rich backfile to 1982, search this database to find investment, company and industry reports from over 500 brokers in North America, Europe, Asia/Pacific, Latin America, Africa and the Middle East. All company and industry reports are provided in full page PDF image. |
|
Junior Edition |
|
| LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. |
|
| MyLibraryDV Welcome to the exciting new world of MyLibraryDV, Now you have a FREE ticket to watch hundreds of on-demand movies! |
|
| National Newspaper Index 1977 - Dec 2007 National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. |
|
| NetLibrary Welcome to netLibrary! This collection of eBooks has been specially created for this library. |
|
| New York State Newspapers Search this database of ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post. |
|
| New York Times: Late Edition (East Coast) The New York Times is considered the official U.S. newspaper because it publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches, and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history. Full text coverage: June 1, 1980 - current |
|
| NEWSDAY Includes full text for Newsday articles from 1985. |
|
| Novelist This "readers' advisor" database has something for everyone. Adults, teens and children will be able to identify other books based on titles, authors and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews and annotations for over 20,000 titles. AT HOME ACCESS |
|
| Novelist K-8 Allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. Contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. |
|
| New York Online Virtual Electronic Library Access information 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from your desktop by logging on to NOVEL ny—the New York Online Virtual Electronic Library. A wide variety of resources − books, magazines, newspapers, research and reference sources and more are available to you with NO FEES 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. |
|
| Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center DEC, 2007 Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum standards search with content correlated to the standards. |
|
| PROMT 2004 - Dec 2007 Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete. Includes summaries and full text from nearly 1,000 business and trade journals, industry newsletters, newspapers, market research studies, news releases, and investment and brokerage firm reports. |
|
ProQuest |
|
The ReferenceUSA |
|
| Science Resource Center DECEMBER, 2007 Researching science topics has never been easier -- with Science Resource Center, thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify content directly correlated to state and national standards. |
|
| Scribner Writers Series Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series |
|
| TELL ME MORE TELL ME MORE is a comprehensive language learning method. Through different activities, the method aims to teach the essential skills needed to communicate various languages such as English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Dutch, Chinese, Japanese and Arabic. The method helps to develop oral and written comprehension, oral and written expressions and vocabulary and grammar. |
|
| Testing & Education Reference Center Taking a college entrance or licensing exam? Looking for a college or graduate school? Need help finding scholarships? Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals |
|
| The Twayne Authors Series - Twayne World, English, and US Authors Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors. |
|
| World Book Web Complete Suite Delivers World Book's entire collection of online products to cover the needs of students from grade school to grad school, includes: World Book Advanced, World Book Online Reference Center, World Book Kids and Enciclopedia Estundiantil Hallazgos. |