The Rockville Centre Public Library
Quick Search
Home Online Catalogs Databases Calendars Just for Kids Teen Central Services Search the Internet About the Library Support the Library
   Alphabetical List of Databases

Login using your Rockville Centre library card barcode.
Alisweb
The online catalog of Nassau County public libraries.
Business and Company Resource Center
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.
[made possible by NOVELNY]
Community Resource Database of Long Island (CRDLI)
Free, online directory of health, human services and education agencies and programs on Long Island.
Country Watch
Current news on the countries of the world, including political, economic, and business information, daily news and data.
CREDOreference
Full text of the best reference books, along with images, customizable data, visual concept maps of results, sound, maps, and more.
EBSCO
Business, health, current events, arts, science and entertainment from magazines and newspapers updated daily.
[made possible by NOVELNY]
En Español
Recursos Electrónicos en Español
Facts on File
World News Digest from 1940 - present, Issues and Controversies, and Today's Science. Includes maps, photographs, historic documents, news makers, and special overviews of key issues.
Gale Group
National Newspaper Index; General Business File ASAP; Associations Unlimited; Biography Resource Center; Literary Resource Center; Scribner Writers Series; Student Resource Center-Bronze; Student Resource Center - Health Module; History Resource Center: US and World; Testing & Education Reference Center; Twayne Authors Series. [made possible by NOVELNY]
Gale Virtual Reference - History
Gale Virtual Reference - Medicine
Heritage Quest
Collection of material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information.
[made possible by NOVELNY]
Health Reference Center - Academic
Fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health & safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, and other health related information.
¡Informe!
Full text of 50 Spanish language bilingual periodicals, including Actual, Latina and Siempre. Full text of El Nuevo Herald, Miami,FL. [made possible by NOVELNY]
LitFinder
Full-text poems, stories, essays, plays, and speeches.
Live Homework Help
Connect one on one with a tutor. Math, science, social studies and english on a K through adult learner level.
netLibrary
4,000 e-books, including works of fiction, speeches, government reports and other electronic texts. Register at the Reference Desk for home access.
Newspapers
Custom Newspapers
150 newspapers, both national and international.
[made possible by NOVELNY] 
New York State Newspapers
Ten major newspapers published in the state of New York, including the New York Times and the New York Post.
National Newspaper Index

Quick access to the indexing of America's top five newspapers in one search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington Post. [made possible by NOVELNY]
Novelist
Fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles.
Novelist K-8
Fiction titles that are popular with young readers.
Oxford Art Online
, Includes over 3,000 art images and line drawings.
Oxford Music Online
Full text, includes access to The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Second Edition Revised - with sound clips.
Points of View
Full text database designed to provide students and schools with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
ProQuest
Full text and graphics for many national newspapers, including Newsday (1985 - current), The New York Times (1980 - current), The Washington Post (1987 - current), and The Wall Street Journal (1984 - current).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
The New York Times (1851 to 2003) and Hartford Courant (1764 -current) , using Adobe Acrobat Reader (Historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases).
Reference USA
Residential and business database with business ratings searchable by name, company name, ticker symbol, yellow page headings and geography.
Valueline
A comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy.
World Book Online
Encyclopedia, Spanish language Encyclopedia, Atlas and more.

These databases are available for use in the library:
OCLC FirstSearch
Valueline

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The New York Knowledge Initiative is a proposal for permanent state funding for NOVELNY.