navigation bar
Rockville Centre Public Library
Homework Help, Online Databases

Online Databases for Children

Login using your Rockville Centre library card barcode.

Library Closed? Click here to chat with a Live Librarian.
Have a reference question?
Get answers online from a librarian
24 hours a day, 7 days a week
.

 

You've got homework. We've got help. Free online help from real tutors. Click here.

Art
Oxford Music Online
Full text, includes access to The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Includes sound clips!
Oxford Art Online

Full text of The Dictionary of Art and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Includes over 3,000 art images and line drawings.

Biography
Gale Gr
oup - Biography in Context
Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.

Encyclopedias
Britannica Online
Comprehensive multimedia encyclopedia; links to Britannica Junior for younger users.
CREDOreference
Full text of the best reference books, along with images, customizable data, visual concept maps of results, sound, maps, and more.

Grolier
Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge.
[made possible by NOVELNY]
      
top

General Reference
CREDOreference
Full text of the best reference books, along with images, customizable data, visual concept maps of results, sound, maps, and more.

EBSCO Searchasaurus

For Grades K - 8, offering keyword and subject searching, with full text option. Includes images.
Kids Search
For Grades K - 5, search by keyword or by topic. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

Kids InfoBits
For Grades K - 5, offering curriculum-related, age appropriate, full text content. Reading levels are assigned to each article: "easy" and "more difficult."
ProQuest
Full text and graphics for many national newspapers, including Newsday (1985 - current), The New York Times (1980 - current), The Washington Post (1987 - current), and The Wall Street Journal (1984 - current).
Community Resource Database of Long Island (CRDLI)
Free, online directory of health, human services, education agencies and programs on Long Island.

top
History
Gale Group
History Resource Center: US and the Student Resource Center - great for primary sources!
Greenwood Daily Life in America
Everyday life and social customs throughout world history, maps and multimedia. Part of this series:
     African American Experience
     Latino American Experience
     Pop Culture Universe


ProQuest Historical Newspapers
The New York Times (1851 to 2003) and Hartford Courant (1764 -current) , using Adobe Acrobat Reader (Historical databases cannot be searched in combination with non-historical databases).

Literature
Gale Group
Literarture Resource Center; Scribner Writers Series; Student Resource Center-Bronze
; The Twayne Authors Series.
LitFinder

Full-text poems, stories, essays, plays, and speeches.top
NoveList K-8
A wonderful resource for lovers of fiction! Search by author, title, series or keyword. Find author read-alikes, award winning book lists and much more!
Sesame Street eBooks

An online collection of audio and animated books with the characters from Sesame Street.
TumbleBooks Library
An online collection of flash animated, talking picture books to listen to or read along at your own speed. Titles available in English, French, Spanish, and Chinese. Download the free flash 6 plug-in needed to view animated books at the site's help option.

Science
Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific subjects with definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.


Just for Kids Internet Links Calendar