Shelter
Rock Public Library's Catalog
Access our library catalog.
AltHealthWatch
A full-text database that focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
AccessScience (From Home Click Here)
The entire contents of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
is now available online. It includes 7,000 articles, 115,000 definitions,
and biographies of more than 1,200 key scientists. Your library card number
is required for access.
Auto
Repair Reference Center
Complete automotive repair manuals as published in the Chilton Total Car Care
Series.
Bowker's
Patron Books In Print
The first place to find books, audios, and videos.
Career Cruising
Career Cruising is an interactive career resource designed for people of all ages. If you want to find the right career,
explore different career options, or plan future education and training, you've come to the right place!
CareerZone
An online resource for students and jobseekers from the New York State Department of Labor.
College
Source Online
CollegeSource Online features over 11,000 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover
original page format including 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.
Community Resource Database of Long Island
Looking for information on local community services? The Community Resource Database of Long Island is
a free, online directory of health, human service, and education agencies and programs on Long Island -
services for children, teens, adults, families, and seniors in both Nassau and Suffolk counties. With
detailed information on nearly 12,000 community resources, the CRD provides instant, keyword access
to essential information for Long Island individuals and organizations. The CRD reaches people
wherever computers linked to the Internet are available, wherever people can benefit from its use -
in their homes, in their workplace, in community agencies, schools, and libraries.
The CRD is current, with information added and updated on a daily basis.
Country Watch
CountryWatch is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. CountryWatch includes a Youth Edition, as well.
CQ
Electronic Library
Your complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills,
votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering and
more....
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is an integrated and cross-linked full-text source for reference books in every major subject. You will find English, bilingual and biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, maps, chronologies, statistics, handbooks and more.
Custom
Newspapers (all) (This does NOT include Newsday)
NOVEL
is a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York
State Library. It is currently a pilot project funded through a Library
Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant to the NY State Library by the
Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Search a collection
of 150 newspapers, both national and international.
EBSCO Host Databases
AltHealthWatch
MasterFILE
Select
Primary
Search
Funk
and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
EBSCO
Animals
TOPICsearch
EBSCOhost
Text Only
General
Science Collection
GreenFILE
Searchasaurus
Novelist
Novelist
K-8
Auto
Repair Reference Center
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Home Improvement Reference Center
Points of View
EBSCOhost
Espanol
Salud
para todos
eLibrary
(formerly Big Chalk)
Updated daily, this database is a comprehensive reference resource. You can
search through more than 150 full-text newspapers, ( including Newsday),
800 full-text magazines, international news wires, 2,000 books, TV & Radio
transcripts, maps and photographs.
Encyclopedia
Britannica
Browse Encyclopedia Britannica online.
Gale
Group / InfoTrac
Use InfoTrac to search magazines, newspapers (NY Times daily updates), and
reference books for information on business, health, industry, current events,
the arts, science, entertainment, etc. Contains: Associations Unlimited
International; Biography and Genealogy Master Index; Biography Resource Center;
History Resource Center: US; Literature Resource Center - LRC, Scribner, Twayne
US, Twayne English and Twayne World Authors; Student Resource Center - Bronze;
Business and Company Resource Center; General Business File ASAP; General
Reference Center Gold; National Newspaper Index; Student Resource Center - Health Module; Health and Wellness Resource
Center and Alternative Health Module; Health and Wellness Resource Center.
Gale
Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference
sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the
library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.
GreenFILE
This database contains materials related to all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global climate change , green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture , renewable energy, recycling, and more. You can limit your search to full-text articles.
Greenwood Daily Life Online
A groundbreaking, dynamic resource, Greenwood Daily Life Online provides content from a vast number
of reference works, monographs, and primary documents.
There's more to history and contemporary events than just the names of rulers and the rise of economic systems; Daily Life Online shows how fascinating and fun it is to explore how others lived and live their lives, and how their lives shaped ours.
Grolier
Multimedia Encyclopedia (From Home Click Here)
Multimedia resources provide quick access factual information as well as broad
overviews of general subjects. Contains: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier
Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Knowledge, Nueva enciclopedia Cumbre
en linea and The New Book of Popular Science.
Grove's
Dictionary of Art
(see "Oxford Art Online")
Grove's
Dictionary of Music and Musicians
(see "Oxford Music Online")
Health
Reference Center
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition,
Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse,
HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
Heritage
Quest Online
Your resource for census
data, family records and local histories. This collection assembles every
extant U.S. federal census, banking and military records, genealogies, local
histories, primary source materials and genealogical and local history serials.
¡Informé!
NOVEL
is a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York
State Library. It is currently a pilot project funded through a Library
Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant to the NY State Library by the
Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Una colección
de revistas hispánicas con textos completos.
Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y
otras
materias.
LearningExpress
Exam Preparation
Prepare for academic and professional exams
- ONLINE! Take practice tests at your own pace. Available exams are true previews
of the official exams. Click on the link above to access. Once connected,
click on the New User button. BE SURE TO SUPPLY YOUR 14-DIGIT
LIBRARY CARD NUMBER IN THE USERNAME BOX.
LitFinder
Database of full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published
in the 20th century which have been analyzed in standard library indexes.
Live
Librarian
Live Librarian is a service available to residents of Nassau County, NY. It
enables real-time communication with a Reference Librarian who can
assist you with your Internet search or questions regarding the use of electronic
resources. Live Librarians cannot provide computer technical support.
National
Newspaper Index (This does NOT include Newsday)
NOVEL
is a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York
State Library. It is currently a pilot project funded through a Library
Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant to the NY State Library by the
Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
National Newspaper
Index provides quick access to the
indexing of America's top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New
York
Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles
Times
and The Washington Post.
New
York State Newspapers
NOVEL
is a statewide virtual library provided free to the public by the New York
State Library. It is currently a pilot project funded through a Library
Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant to the NY State Library by the
Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Search this database
of ten major newspapers published in
the state of New York, including the Newsday, The New York Times and The New York Post.
Newsday Includes full-text for Newsday from 1985 to present.
Novelist
This "readers' advisor" database has something for everyone. Adults, teens
and children will be able to identify books based on titles, authors and
topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews
and annotations for over 20,000 titles.
Oxford Art Online
This gateway into art research includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Music Online
This gateway into music research includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Novelist
K-8
Teens and children will be able to identify books based on titles, authors
and topics they have read and enjoyed. It also provides full-text reviews
and annotations.
Points of View This full-text database provides students with essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The 200 topics contain a balance of materials from all viewpoints.
Teen Health
and Wellness Easy-to-use, comprehensive database allows teens (and those who care about teens) to find information for their own well-being and for research reports.
ThomasNet
Search ThomasNet.com, the most comprehensive resource for industrial information, products, services, CAD drawings, and more...
TumbleBooks
TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books. There are also TumblePuzzles, and TumbleQuizzes, as well as TumbleResources for teachers. TumbleBooks are created from existing picture books which have been licensed from children's book publishers and converted to the TumbleBook format.
UMI's
ProQuest
Direct Full-text articles on business and general interest subjects, with
graphics, are searchable by keywords. Also included are periodicals and
newspapers, including The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
World
Book Online
Access over 31,000 encyclopedia articles, 6,000 web links, 25,000 periodical
articles, 800 videos, animations, and sounds, 400 interactive maps, 100 3-D
bubble views, and much more.
Note: The latest web browser versions are required for proper use. To download the latest version of Internet Explorer, click here. To download the latest version of Netscape, click here.