About UsOnline ResourcesCalendarsNewsletterCommunityKids PagesTeen SpaceReaders Corner  

  Home > Online Resources > Databases: General Research

General Research

Academic Search Premier
Thousands of scholarly journals, mostly in peer reviewed and in full-text. This database covers a range of subject areas.

Britannica Online Library Edition
The complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.

EBSCOHost Text Only
EBSCO Host Text Only offers visually-impaired users a graphics-free interface, to making it possible to search with text-to-speech software. Access several EBSCO databases, containing a broad range of subjects and materials.

Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia
Online version of the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, covering an array of topics and subject areas. Updated annually.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources in Art, Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science, Social Science and General Reference.

Live Homework Help (Available: Every day 3pm - 9pm)
Free online homework help with real tutors for students in grades 4-12 and college introductory courses.

Live Librarian (Available: Mon. - Thurs. 9pm - 11pm; Sunday 5pm - 9pm)
Real-time communication with a Reference Librarian who can assist you with your Internet search or questions regarding the use of electronic resources.

MasterFile Premier
Full-text access to more than 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science and more.

Middle Search Plus
For middle school students, this database contains thousands of full-text articles, biographies and historical essays.

Proquest
Magazines, journals and newspaper full-text and article abstracts including the New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and many popular magazines and scholarly journals in business, trades and medicine.

Student Resource Center
Covering all core curriculum areas, SRC - Bronze provides a premium selection of reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including video and audio clips.


About the Library Catalog

Search the Catalog

View Your Record E-mail ReferenceBestseller CollectionBabysitting Registry Library Board Meetings Homework Help Live Librarian Museum Pass Program Friends of the Library

Application for Prospective Art Gift to the Syosset Public Library

 

Send comments to administration-syosset@nassaulibrary.org
© Copyright 2005-2007, Syosset Public Library