About UsOnline ResourcesCalendarsNewsletterCommunityKids PagesTeen SpaceReaders Corner  

  Home > Online Resources > Databases: History/Current Events

History/Current Events

Academic Search Premier
Thousands of scholarly journals, mostly in peer reviewed and in full-text. This database covers a range of subject areas.

CQ Researcher
In-depth, unbiased coverage of current issues in the news including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

Facts.com World News Digest
Contains a complete archive of World News Digest from 1940, updated weekly, plus a live Reuters® newsfeed, updated hourly. Features include: Country Profiles, Key People, Key Events, and Key Issues.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources in Art, Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science, Social Science and General Reference.

Historical New York Times
The full-text of the New York Times from 1851 through 2003. [For current New York Times articles see Proquest Newspapers, Custom Newspapers or New York State Newspapers.]

History Reference Center
A comprehensive history reference database featuring full-text from reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, as well as magazines and journals.

History Resource Center: U.S.
Reference books, periodical information and primary sources covering U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.

History Resource Center: World
A searchable collection of information on world history, including reference sources, articles from magazines and scholarly publications, primary sources, and images, maps and charts.

MasterFile Premier
Full-text access to more than 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science and more.

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues, featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, magazine, academic journal and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts and links to Web sites.

Student Resource Center
Covering all core curriculum areas, SRC - Bronze provides a premium selection of reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including video and audio clips.

TOPICsearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.


About the Library Catalog

Search the Catalog

View Your Record E-mail ReferenceBestseller CollectionBabysitting Registry Library Board Meetings Homework Help Live Librarian Museum Pass Program Friends of the Library

Application for Prospective Art Gift to the Syosset Public Library

 

Send comments to administration-syosset@nassaulibrary.org
© Copyright 2005-2007, Syosset Public Library