About UsReference ServicesCalendarsNewsletterCommunityKids PagesTeen SpaceReaders Corner  

  Home > Online Resources > Databases: Kids' Databases

Kids' Databases

Biography Resource Center
Picture of G. Washington Search for people---both current and historic from all eras and fields by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.

Britannica Online Library Edition
The complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year.

EBSCO Animals
Picture of panda Search for in-depth information about animals and their habitats, including images.

EBSCOHost Text Only
  EBSCO Host Text Only offers visually-impaired users a graphics-free interface, making it possible to search with text-to-speech software. Access several EBSCO databases, containing a broad range of subjects and materials.

Facts on File Modern World History
icon Contains event and topic overviews, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries covering the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present.

Facts on File Science Online
icon Contains essays on major topics and issues, articles on science in the news, timelines, diagrams, illustrations, images and videos.  Also includes science experiments and activities, indexed by grade range, subject category and time required.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
Picture of globe Online version of the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia , covering an array of topics and subject areas. Updated annually.

Grolier Online Passport
Children in elementary school and up can search for a variety of topics from age appropriate sources including encyclopedia articles, magazines, websites, and media.

Kids Infobits
Kids Infobits logo Learners from Kindergarten through Grade 5 will find a wide range of age-appropriate materials including magazines and reference sources on topics such as geography, current events, the arts, science and more.

Kids Search
Kids Search Logo For Grades K-8, search by keyword or by topic such as geography, arts and music, sports and more.

Newsday
Newsday Logo Search articles from Newsday in full-text from 1985 to the present.

Novelist K-8
Novelist K-8 Logo Discover books you might like to read! Search by author, title, series name, and subject.

Primary Search
Picture of magnifying glass Search full-text articles from popular magazines for elementary school research.

Searchasaurus
Searchasaurus Logo For Grades K-8, search by keyword or by topic such as animals, health, history and more.

Student Resource Center
Student Resource Center For middle and high school students, provides information from core curriculum areas using reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including video and audio clips.

TumbleBooks
A fun and interactive library of animated, talking storybooks for beginning readers. After reading a story you can play puzzles and games. Once you are ready for longer chapter books, check out the Tumble Readables section.

World Book Web Kids
World Book Kids includes thousands of easy-to-read articles, exciting images and illustrations, interactive games and activities, and teacher resources.

About the Library Catalog

Search the Catalog

View Your Record E-mail Reference Live Librarian Homework Help Library Board Meetings Museum Pass Program Babysitting Registry Bestseller Collection Friends of the Library Local History Collection

 

Send comments to administration-syosset@nassaulibrary.org
© Copyright 2005-2007, Syosset Public Library