About UsOnline ResourcesCalendarsNewsletterCommunityKids PagesTeen SpaceReaders Corner  

  Home > Online Resources > Databases: Literature

Literature

Academic Search Premier
Thousands of scholarly journals, mostly in peer reviewed and in full-text. This database covers a range of subject areas.

Book Collection: Nonfiction
Search the content of thousands of nonfiction books covering a wide range of subjects.

Book Index with Reviews
Information about and reviews of millions of books, including new releases, and forthcoming titles. Also includes music and DVD/video titles.

Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on thousands of U.S. and international authors .

eAudiobooks
Download audiobooks to your personal computer, including many current titles, book club favorites, classics, as well as popular non-fiction. First time users must create an account online. Please call Readers' Services at 921-7161 X 241 with any questions.

FirstSearch (OCLC) (Available inside library only)
A collection of select databases, including LILCat (a catalog of materials in Long Island libraries), WorldCat (a catalog of materials in libraries worldwide), and periodical databases containing some full-text journals and periodicals.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources in Art, Business, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Science, Social Science and General Reference.

Literary Reference Center
Full-text plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies, and book reviews. Includes MagillonLiterature Plus.

Literature Resource Center
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines.

MasterFile Premier
Full-text access to more than 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science and more.

NetLibrary
A free collection of nonfiction and classic e-books that you can read online. Books can be searched by author, title or subject. First time users must create an account online.

Novelist
Search terms such as author or subject, or browse a book list, to find a book to read. Also find book reviews, feature articles, book discussion guides, booktalks, and links to author Web sites.

Scribner’s Writers Series
In-depth critical essays on authors and literary genres drawn from the Scribner print series.

Student Resource Center
Covering all core curriculum areas, SRC - Bronze provides a premium selection of reference material, full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia, including video and audio clips.

Twayne’s Authors Series
This database contains hundreds of books from Twaynes Author Series, covering World, English and U.S. Authors, providing literary critical interpretation and discussion readers and students in high school, college and beyond.

About the Library Catalog

Search the Catalog

View Your Record E-mail ReferenceBestseller CollectionBabysitting Registry Library Board Meetings Homework Help Live Librarian Museum Pass Program Friends of the Library

Application for Prospective Art Gift to the Syosset Public Library

 

Send comments to administration-syosset@nassaulibrary.org
© Copyright 2005-2007, Syosset Public Library